Latest Audio News Bulletin

Scenic Rim welcomes its newest Australians on Australia Day  

The Scenic Rim will welcome 30 residents of nine nationalities as the region’s newest Australians during citizenship ceremonies at The Centre Beaudesert today.

While concerns over increasing cases of COVID-19 forced the postponement of Council’s Australia Day Awards celebrations, small Australia Day citizenship ceremonies are being held as required by the Federal Government under COVID-safe guidelines.

Scenic Rim Mayor, Greg Christensen.

Scenic Rim Mayor Greg Christensen says Scenic Rim residents willl be among 16,000 people from more than 150 nations who, on Australia Day 2022, will pledge their loyalty to Australia and its people, its democratic beliefs, its laws and its rights and liberties.

“We are honoured to be part of their journey from migrant to Australian citizen and to all of them I say ‘welcome” .


 “As Mayor, I’m sure I can say that they are not only becoming citizens of a great country but also, formally, part of one of the greatest communities in Australia here in the Scenic Rim.”

 Cr Christensen says Australia Day on 26 January is an opportunity for everyone to reflect on the nation’s history – its highs and its lows – to respect the stories of others and to celebrate the achievements of Australia and its people.

 “Becoming an Australian citizen means something different to everyone and I am pleased that our newest Australians choose to share this important day with us in the Scenic Rim”.


 “On behalf of the people of Australia, and especially the Scenic Rim, I congratulate our newest citizens and hope they enjoy a happy and successful future here.”

 The Scenic Rim’s newest Australians are as follows:


First name Surname Born in Now residing
Steven Talbot New Zealand Roadvale
Diana Fulcher Colombia Roadvale
Alexander Duncan Mackenzie United Kingdom Boonah
Jane Fleming United Kingdom Boonah
Goma Bastiaansen Barker India Beaudesert
Konstantsa-Georgina Clancy Bulgaria Beaudesert
Elin Olsson Sweden Beaudesert
Jason Short New Zealand Beaudesert
Megan Holt United States Tamborine Mountain
Laura Medcalf United States Tamborine Mountain
Agnieszka Barbara Glogowska-Kuniszewska Poland Tamborine Mountain
Marek Jura Poland Tamborine Mountain
Mateusz Wolf Poland Tamborine Mountain
Grant Agnew New Zealand Tamborine Mountain
Jodie Reid United Kingdom Tamborine Mountain
Alexander Sullivan Scotland Tamborine Mountain
Glenda Sullivan New Zealand Tamborine Mountain
Michelle Kerwin United States Tamborine Mountain
Kelvin Moroney New Zealand Eagle Heights
Lisa Sullivan-Moroney New Zealand Eagle Heights
Jennifer Resuggan United Kingdom Tamborine
Simon Rayner United Kingdom Canungra
Karen Davis United Kingdom Boyland
Daniel Fossey United Kingdom Boyland
Anthony, Melissa, Freddy and Harry Johnson United Kingdom Boyland
Michael and Natalie Legg New Zealand Boyland



Share on:

More local stories

Recent Stories